the Trainsition The industry and also the entire market on and around the railways is changing. The transformation of companies brings new challenges and makes technical progress and ecological awareness indispensable. We are ready: We have been developing towards the future for years, so that with us you have a partner who is always at the cutting edge. With sustainable concepts from Northrail, you are now shaping the rail mobility of tomorrow — far-sighted, appreciative, effective.
DE | EN
21.10.2022:

PUBLIC TRANSPORT

Northrail structures sale-and-lease-back transaction with DB Regio

Press Release
18.10.2022:

NEW LEASE

Two Siemens Smartron locomotives and one Vectron Dual Mode leased to Eisenbahnen und Verkehrsbetriebe Elbe-Weser GmbH

Press Release
15.09.2022:

NORTHRAIL - THE TRAINSITION

Northrail rebranding underlines corporate commitment to sustainable rail transport

Press Release

Company
Our Services

Rental of rail vehicles

Northrail is an all-round service provider for the leasing of diesel, electric and hybrid locomotives of all performance classes for shunting, feeder and line service. We take over the entire technical and also commercial management for the more than 330 locomotives, multiple units and passenger coaches that we manage. Our work often begins before the vehicles are even on their wheels. As a moderator between vehicle operators and manufacturers, we accompany the development of the vehicles and manage the construction phase from the specifications to commissioning.

Northrail takes care of the marketing, the initial and subsequent leasing as well as the technical asset management of the vehicles. In addition to construction support, this includes the timely compliance with all maintenance and inspection measures. In the area of commercial asset management, Northrail takes on tasks such as portfolio controlling, reporting and insurance claims processing. The service package is rounded off by owner and ECM activities.

Range of Services

As convinced railway people, we know how important it is to operate reliably in the market, but also to be able to react quickly and flexibly to market developments if necessary. All our services for rail transport and industrial companies, ports or shunting service providers are geared towards this.

Northrail leases hybrid and diesel locomotives for shunting, feeder and mainline services as well as electric and hybrid locomotives for mainline services in nine European countries on behalf of various portfolio companies and private and institutional investors. We cover the short-, medium- and long-term vehicle requirements of our tenants quickly and easily and also work with them to develop solutions and ideas for spot transport, short-term peak coverage and even complete fleet concepts.

The variety of types and services in our fleet allows our customers to make operational adjustments – even at short notice. To this end, we continuously purchase suitable new or also young used rail vehicles, or actively accompany new vehicle developments from the drawing board to commissioning. For the operation of rail vehicles, we support our customers with all relevant technical and commercial services.

Investment Management

With a 30% market share, Northrail is the number one European-based rental provider of locomotives for shunting and short/medium-haul operations and is also very prominently represented with innovative mainline locomotives in selected markets.

This is also based on the highly specialised and innovative rail financing expertise of Northrail Investment Management GmbH, which continuously presents suitable rail investment opportunities to its international private and institutional investors. All investments benefit from in-depth market knowledge, a broad network in the equity and debt markets, a high level of technical expertise and the daily handling of leasing as well as buying and selling of locomotives and multiple units. Together with our investors and tenants, we take care of a smooth process from the initial idea to the implementation of innovative investment and financing projects.

The railway will play an increasingly important role in the future. That is why we arrange and structure investments in rail vehicles. The focus is on locomotives and multiple units, or passenger coaches, preferably entire portfolios of new or used vehicles. In addition, we are also involved in publicly tendered regional rail transport projects. We have deliberately selected the main European markets as target markets for our investments.

Our History

2008

Foundation of Northrail GmbH as a joint venture between the Hamburg Paribus Group and the Port of Kiel .

2013

Management of over 80 locomotives

Declaration of Conformity for ECM according to EU Regulation 445/2011 for Northrail Fahrzeugverwaltung GmbH

2014

Asset management including construction supervision for the Marschbahn fleet (15 diesel mainline locomotives, 90 passenger coaches, 3 diesel multiple units)

2017

Acquisition of a portfolio of 31 diesel locomotives

2018

Marketing of 25 Siemens Smartron electric locomotives

2019

Asset management of 18 Siemens Vectron locomotives and 12 hybrid shunting locomotives Alstom Prima H3

2019

Northrail is now fully owned by the Paribus Group and its management respectively

2020

Asset management including construction supervision of 55 battery multiple units (BEMU) of the battery network Schleswig-Holstein of NAH.SH

2021

Asset management including preparation of specifications (together with the manufacturer) and construction supervision for the newly developed Vossloh DM-20 series.

Northrail Fahrzeugverwaltung GmbH receives approval to carry out maintenance (ECM certification in accordance with Implementing Regulation (EU) 2019/779)

2022

Framework purchase agreement with Siemens for 30 Vectron Dual Mode locomotives fully utilised one year after conclusion of contract

Purchase contract and asset management for 35 new Vectron AC locomotives leased to SBB Cargo

Management

Dr. Volker Simmering
Managing Partner
Northrail-Group

+49 40 8888 00 6-160
volker.simmering@northrail.eu

Juliane Storm-Ohm
Managing Director
Northrail GmbH

+49 40 8888 00 6-411
juliane.storm-ohm@northrail.eu

Michael Trentzsch
Managing Director
Northrail Investment Management GmbH

+49 40 8888 00 6-166
michael.trentzsch@northrail.eu

Portfolio

TRAINS FOR TRAINSITION

The mobility turnaround is taking place on the railways. Northrail has therefore been developing tailor-made rental offers for locomotives of different performance classes for shunting and mainline locomotives and passenger rail vehicles since 2008.

Are you looking for a solution for light and medium-weight mainline freight services, delivery services to marshalling yards, terminals and train formation points? Are you an operator of mainline locomotives and passenger trains? Are port or feeder services, shunting and construction train services, infrastructure logistics or the last mile to and from your own track your subject? With more than 330 locomotives, multiple units and passenger coaches for freight and passenger transport in Europe, Northrail is sure to have the right vehicle for you. Let's talk about how this can become the solution that's right for you.

Here is our current locomotive fleet and the complete locomotive data sheets:

Load more

Northrail by Numbers

343
Rail vehicles in management
40
Employees
60
Rental Customers

Locomotive fleet in operation

Northrail is excellently positioned in the European market. The locomotive fleet includes traditional shunting and universal locomotives as well as state-of-the-art electric and hybrid locomotives and battery-electric regional trains.

The currently managed locomotive fleet is currently in operation in nine European countries:

  • Austria
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
Karte Europa Northrail Karte Europa Northrail

Career

The rail vehicle industry is always on the move. It plays a key role in achieving the energy transition in the transport sector. As an asset manager and leasing service provider of the necessary vehicles, Northrail is a significant part of this turnaround. In addition, we design innovative investments with a team of capital market experts with many years of experience. We see ourselves as the link between rental customers, locomotives and investors.

With creativity and courage, we are constantly opening up new markets and assets. We live flat hierarchies as well as short coordination and decision-making paths in a personalised corporate culture. We have a lot planned and offer attractive fields of activity and positions for all levels of experience.

Applications can be submitted easily and conveniently using the application form provided in the current job advertisements.

There are currently no vacancies.

Speculative Application


Bitte zur Portrait-Ansicht wechseln.
Vielen Dank!

the Trainsition Die Industrie und auch der gesamte Markt auf und um die Schiene herum verändert sich. Die Transformation der Unternehmen bringt neue Herausforderungen und macht technischen Fortschritt und ökologisches Bewusstsein unabdingbar. Wir sind bereit: Wir entwickeln uns seit Jahren in Richtung Zukunft, damit Sie mit uns einen Partner haben, der dabei immer auf der Höhe der Zeit ist. Mit nachhaltigen Konzepten von Northrail gestalten Sie jetzt die Bahnmobilität von morgen — weitsichtig, wertschätzend, wirkungsvoll.
DE | EN
08.09.2022:

Nachhaltiger Schienengüterverkehr

Northrail und RTB CARGO schließen Mietvertrag für vier innovative batterieelektrische Vossloh Rolling Stock Dual Mode DM 20-EBB-Lokomotiven

Zur Pressemeldung
01.09.2022:

Kauf und Vermietung von neuen Schienenfahrzeugen

Northrail ruft letzte 12 Vectron Dual Mode-Lokomotiven unter dem Rahmenkaufvertrag mit Siemens ab

Zur Pressemeldung
12.10.2021:

Nachhaltiger Schienengüterverkehr

Northrail vermietet sieben neue Siemens Vectron Dual Mode-Lokomotiven

Zur Pressemeldung

Unternehmen
Unsere Leistungen

Vermietung von Schienenfahrzeugen

Northrail ist ein Rundum-Dienstleister für die Vermietung von Diesel-, Elektro- und Hybrid-Lokomotiven aller Leistungsklassen für den Rangier-, Zubringer- und Streckendienst. Für die mehr als 330 von uns gemanagten Lokomotiven, Triebzüge und Reisezugwagen übernehmen wir das gesamte technische und auch kaufmännische Management. Unsere Arbeit beginnt oft schon, bevor die Fahrzeuge auf ihren Rädern stehen. Als Moderator zwischen Fahrzeugbetreibern und Herstellern begleiten wir die Entwicklung der Fahrzeuge mit und managen die Bauphase vom Lastenheft bis zur Inbetriebnahme.

Northrail kümmert sich um die Vermarktung, die Erst- und Anschlussvermietung sowie um das technische Assetmanagement der Fahrzeuge. Dies umfasst neben der Baubegleitung u. a. die fristgerechte Einhaltung aller Instandhaltungs- und Revisionsmaßnahmen. Im Bereich des kaufmännischen Assetmanagements übernimmt Northrail Aufgaben wie Portfolio-Controlling, Reporting und Versicherungsschadenabwicklung. Abgerundet wird das Leistungspaket durch Halter- und ECM-Tätigkeit.

Dienstleistungs-Spektrum

Als überzeugte Bahner wissen wir, wie wichtig es ist, zuverlässig im Markt zu agieren, aber ggf. auch schnell und flexibel auf Marktentwicklungen reagieren zu können. Darauf sind all unsere Dienstleistungen für Eisenbahnverkehrs- und Industrieunternehmen, Häfen oder Rangierdienstleister ausgerichtet.

Northrail vermietet im Auftrag verschiedener Portfoliogesellschaften sowie privater und institutioneller Investoren Hybrid- und Diesellokomotiven für den Rangier-, Zubringer- und Streckendienst sowie Elektro- und Hybridlokomotiven für den Streckendienst in neun europäischen Ländern. Dabei decken wir schnell und unkompliziert den kurz-, mittel- und langfristigen Fahrzeugbedarf unserer Mieter und erarbeiten mit ihnen auch Lösungen und Ideen für Spot-Verkehre, kurzfristige Spitzenabdeckung bis hin zu kompletten Flottenkonzepten.

Die Typen- und Leistungsvielfalt in unserer Flotte ermöglicht – auch kurzfristig – operative Anpassungsmöglichkeiten für unsere Kunden. Dazu kaufen wir kontinuierlich geeignete neue oder auch junge gebrauchte Schienenfahrzeuge, oder begleiten aktiv neue Fahrzeugentwicklungen vom Reißbrett bis zur Indienststellung. Für den Betrieb von Schienenfahrzeugen stehen wir unseren Kunden mit allen relevanten technischen und kaufmännischen Dienstleistungen zur Seite.

Investment Management

Northrail steht mit 30 % Marktanteil auf Platz 1 der in Europa ansässigen Vermietungsanbieter von Lokomotiven im Rangier- und Kurz- bzw. Mittelstreckenbetrieb und ist darüber hinaus auch mit innovativen Streckenlokomotiven in ausgesuchten Märkten sehr prominent vertreten.

Dem zugrunde liegt auch die hoch spezialisierte und innovative Eisenfinanzierungkompetenz der Northrail Investment Management GmbH, die fortlaufend ihren internationalen privaten und institutionellen Investoren geeignete Eisenbahninvestitionsmöglichkeiten präsentiert. Allen Investitionen kommen tiefe Marktkenntnisse, ein breites Netzwerk im Eigen- und Fremdkapitalmarkt, eine hohe Technikexpertise und der tägliche Umgang mit Vermietung sowie An- und Verkauf von Lokomotiven und Triebzügen zugute. Gemeinsam mit unseren Investoren und Mietern kümmern wir uns um einen reibungslosen Ablauf von der ersten Idee bis zur Umsetzung innovativer Investitions- und Finanzierungsprojekte.

Der Eisenbahn kommt in Zukunft eine immer größere Rolle zu. Deshalb arrangieren und strukturieren wir Investments in Schienenfahrzeuge. Den Schwerpunkt bilden Lokomotiven und Triebzüge, oder auch Reisezugwagen, vorzugsweise ganze Portfolios mit neuen oder gebrauchten Fahrzeugen. Darüber hinaus engagieren wir uns auch bei öffentlich ausgeschriebenen SPNV-Projekten. Bewusst haben wir für die Investments die wesentlichen Märkte Europas als Zielmarkt ausgewählt.

Unsere Historie

2008

Gründung der Northrail GmbH als Joint-Venture zwischen der Hamburger Paribus-Gruppe und dem Seehafen Kiel .

2013

Management von über 80 Lokomotiven

Konformitätserklärung für ECM nach EU-Verordnung 445/2011 für Northrail Fahrzeugverwaltung GmbH

2014

Assetmanagement einschließlich Baubegleitung für die Marschbahn-Flotte (15 Dieselstreckenlokomotiven, 90 Reisezugwagen, 3 Diesel Multiple Units)

2017

Übernahme eines Portfolios von 31 Diesellokomotiven

2018

Start der Vermarktung von 25 Elektrolokomotiven vom Typ Siemens Smartron

2019

Assetmanagement von 18 Siemens Vectron-Lokomotiven und 12 Hybrid-Rangierlokomotiven Alstom Prima H3

2019

Northrail gehört nun vollständig zur Paribus-Gruppe bzw. deren Management

2020

Assetmanagement einschließlich Baubegleitung von 55 Batterie-Triebzügen (BEMU) des Akku-Netzes Schleswig- Holstein der NAH.SH

2021

Assetmanagement einschließlich Lastenhefterstellung (gemeinsam mit dem Hersteller) und Bauüberwachung für die neu entwickelte Vossloh DM-20-Baureihe

Northrail Fahrzeugverwaltung GmbH erhält die Zulassung für die Durchführung von Instandhaltungen (ECM-Zertifizierung gemäß Durchführungsverordnung (EU) 2019/779)

2022

Rahmenkaufvertrag mit Siemens über 30 Vectron Dual Mode-Lokomotiven ein Jahr nach Vertragsabschluss vollständig abgerufen

Kaufvertrag und Assetmanagement über 35 neue an SBB Cargo vermietete Vectron AC-Lokomotiven

Management

Dr. Volker Simmering
Managing Partner
Northrail-Gruppe

+49 40 8888 00 6-160
volker.simmering@northrail.eu

Juliane Storm-Ohm
Managing Director
Northrail GmbH

+49 40 8888 00 6-411
juliane.storm-ohm@northrail.eu

Michael Trentzsch
Managing Director
Northrail Investment Management GmbH

+49 40 8888 00 6-166
michael.trentzsch@northrail.eu

Portfolio

TRAINS FOR TRAINSITION

Die Mobilitätswende findet auf der Schiene statt. Northrail entwickelt deshalb seit 2008 maßgeschneiderte Vermietungsangebote für Lokomotiven unterschiedlicher Leistungsklassen für Rangier- und Streckenlokomotiven und Passagierschienenfahrzeuge.

Sie suchen eine Lösung für den leichten und mittelschweren Streckendienst im Güterverkehr, Zustellverkehre zu Rangierbahnhöfen, Terminals und Zugbildungsstellen? Sie sind Betreiber von Streckenloks und Passagierzügen? Sind Hafen- oder Feederverkehre, Rangier- und Bauzugdienst, Infrastrukturlogistik oder die letzte Meile vom und zum eigenen Gleis ihr Thema? Northrail hat mit mehr als 330 Lokomotiven, Triebzügen und Reisezugwagen für den Güter- und Personenverkehr in Europa sicher das passende Fahrzeug für Sie. Lassen Sie uns gern darüber sprechen, wie daraus die für Sie geeignete Lösung wird.

Hier unsere aktuelle Lokflotte und die entsprechenden Lokdatenblätter:

Mehr laden

Northrail by Numbers

343
Schienenfahrzeuge im Management
40
Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter
60
Mietkunden

Lokeinsatzgebiete Lokeinsatz-
gebiete

Northrail ist im europäischen Markt exzellent positioniert. Die Lokflotte umfasst sowohl traditionelle Rangier- und Universallokomotiven als auch hochmoderne Elektro- und Hybridlokomotiven und batterieelektrische Regionalzüge.

Die aktuell gemanagte Lokflotte ist derzeit in neun europäischen Ländern im Einsatz:

  • Dänemark
  • Deutschland
  • Frankreich
  • Italien
  • Niederlande
  • Norwegen
  • Österreich
  • Schweden
  • Schweiz
Karte Europa Northrail Karte Europa Northrail

Karriere

Die Schienenfahrzeugbranche ist stets in Bewegung. Sie spielt eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Verwirklichung der Energiewende im Verkehrssektor. Als Assetmanager und Vermietungsdienstleister der dafür notwendigen Fahrzeuge ist Northrail ein bedeutender Teil dieser Wende. Darüber hinaus konzipieren wir mit einem Team aus langjährig erfahrenen Kapitalmarktexperten innovative Investments. Wir verstehen uns als Bindeglied zwischen Mietkunden, Loks und Investoren.

Mit Kreativität und Mut erschließen wir ständig neue Märkte und Assets. Wir leben flache Hierarchien sowie kurze Abstimmungs- und Entscheidungswege in einer persönlich geprägten Unternehmenskultur. Wir haben viel vor und bieten attraktive Aufgabenfelder und Positionen für alle Erfahrungsstufen.

Bewerbungen können ganz einfach und komfortabel über das jeweils in den aktuellen Stellenanzeigen hinterlegte Bewerbungsformular eingereicht werden.

Derzeit sind keine Stellen ausgeschrieben.

Initiativbewerbung


Bitte zur Portrait-Ansicht wechseln.
Vielen Dank!